Just Watched – Labor Day (Some SPOILERS)

I am writing this as I just finished watching the movie Labor Day (2013). This movie is about a young boy and his mother and their time spent with a man over the Labor Day weekend. It stars Kate Winslet, Josh Brolin, and Gattlin Griffith. Kate plays a divorced single mom named Adele and while out shopping with her son Henry, they meet a man named Frank played by Josh Brolin. Frank recently escaped from prison and he asked for their help to get further out-of-town.

I love this movie. I didn’t know what to expect. I thought it would be suspenseful and I might need to hide behind a pillow, but it was far from that. This was a family love story. The story is being told by the son as an adult played by Tobey Maguire. Throughout the movie you see flashes of the past which seems a little confusing. Later it becomes clear that it is the story of what Frank was accused. Murder. I won’t give the details, but it was surprising. I’m not sure it was important to the movie, but it did help you understand that he really was a good guy.

This movie reminds me of my mom or Adele. Adele was in love with love. Life happens and the sadness gets worse. During this weekend Adele finds love again with Frank and they become a family, but this quickly ends once it is discovered that he is with them. Frank goes back to jail for about 20 years. Henry grows up to be a wonderful young man because of the influence that Frank has had on his life over the holiday weekend. In the end Frank gets out and is reunited with Adele.

I watched this movie on Netflix (this is not a sponsored post) and I gave it 5 stars. If you haven’t seen it already and you love, love stories I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

